The Morose Fisherman + Writing Update

Readers-

Thought I’d share something I came across a little while ago online that reminded me of Cerin. I mean, what does one get for a quiet, sarcastic, brutal necromancer who loves to fish? How about a nice fishing cap to help shade that beautifully delicate pale skin? Maybe even one with a ridiculously long bill?

I found this hilarious because it really did remind me of my favorite broody necromancer. I’d even buy it for him if he was…you know, tangible.

Speaking of my favorite “broody bois”, as I call them, my school break has begun and I am a woman of my word. Typing away as a particular broody and bloodthirsty lizardman (Captain Calder “Long Dong Silvers” Cerberius) on Of Monsters and Mutiny (Shapeshifting Seas Trilogy Book 3). I think I already let you guys know the entire outline is complete (the extremely succinct outline is 1,220 words by itself, and that doesn’t include other notes of things/scenes to include). I am super excited to get deeper into this thing, because I have some fantastic things in store for this book:

  • The largest beast battle in the Six Elements universe yet in terms of the beast’s actual size, environmental scale, and number of combatants (yes, including the two giant beasts from Earth, Six Elements Book 2). Yes, it will be on the sea, and yes, it will be during a beautifully dangerous storm. The badass cover art portrays this sea battle. I can’t ****ing wait.
  • Answers to the many questions you likely have about Neliah Clevon’s character development, in case you are like my husband and viciously shipping her and Calder while demanding answers for her mysterious behavior.
  • Many more explosions and the destruction of property, thanks to Koby’s love of offensive alchemy.
  • The exploration of multiple locations never before visited (the uncharted beastlands make their first ever visual appearance here, and one particular ‘lost city’ just might be visited before its brutal destruction, wink-wink).
  • The most brutal kill of a friendly character I’ve ever written in terms of gore and method. (And yes, I know one of the deaths from Stemming the Tide (Shapeshifting Seas Trilogy Book 2) was brutal, but this one just hurts to even think about.) Figured I might as well give a character I love a gory death I love to make his/her legacy memorable in more than one way.

Anyway, that’s just a teaser of things to come. I’m back to work in 3…2…1…

Leave a comment